Skip to content

Joy of Cooking Hot Fudge Sauce

August 20, 2009

hot fudge

Although much belated, I wanted to post my favorite hot fudge recipe as a follow-up to my last ice cream post. Although I don’t own the Joy of Cooking, I scanned this page from my Mom’s copy (note chocolate stains on page) years ago. The recipe has been an institution in my family, and although was used most frequently as a topping for peppermint stick ice cream during the Christmases of my childhood, has found a place in my year-round dessert repertoire.

Locating that dusty bottle of corn syrup, leftover from last year’s Thanksgiving pecan pie, is probably the longest step in creating this delicacy. From there, it’s a quick moving, science experiment-esque process of boiling and bubbling together butter, chocolate, water, corn syrup, and sugar. Once done and cooled a bit, the sauce can be transferred to a glass jar, covered tightly, and stored in the refrigerator. Just a few seconds in the microwave will the restore the sauce to its full glory.

Beware of boiling the sauce to long…If cooked just right, it will solidify slightly on ice cream.  If cooked a little longer, it can be a kind of fun taffy, that sticks charmingly to the inside of your mouth.  When overcooked, you’ll need a chisel to remove the sauce from the bottom of your bowl or a visit to the dentist to restore your extracted fillings–as kid, when this pot was inevitably cooking on the back burner, behind the potatoes, gravy, green beans and resting Christmas roast, the chisel factor was definitely part of the charm.


hot fudge sauce

6 Comments leave one →
  1. susan o. permalink
    December 23, 2010 11:37 am

    God bless you for posting! My copy is in storage and planning to give jars of this with dessert dishes and ice cream scoop!

  2. Tami permalink
    November 10, 2011 1:52 am

    Thank you so much! My mom had this same edition of joy of cooking. I learned how to make it as a child, but I had lost my old joy of cooking copy. Happy baking!

  3. Kiersten Marek permalink
    February 12, 2013 3:34 pm

    Reblogged this on Kmareka.com and commented:
    All I can say is…yum.

  4. Fran permalink
    February 2, 2014 8:06 pm

    Have been making this since the book first came out, but never use corn syrup. Have found that , in small amounts like these, honey works just as well, and I always have that on hand. The best hot fudge sauce recipe I’ve ever tried.

Trackbacks

  1. Autumnal Ice Cream Pie «
  2. My Kitchen/Studio Turns 2! « My Kitchen/Studio

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

