Skip to content

Blog Post Numero Uno

March 25, 2009

Hello and thank you for visiting my brand-new, food-oriented blog. I’ve been quite interested in cooking for some time now–as an elementary school aged kid, I crafted magic-markered menus and made the best possible use of butter knives (no sharp ones yet) and the microwave  to make celebratory hors-oeuvres for mother’s and father’s days, birthdays, etc.   Today, 14 or so years later, I’ve graduated to slightly more sophisticated cooking tools and have become pretty passionate about making tasty meals on an art student’s budget.  In the past few months, a few things have happened that have prompted the creation of this blog:

(a) I graduated from college. More time to experiment, record recipes, read cookbooks, and to tell you about it.

(b) I went on a 6-week trip to Europe, mostly to Italy and Germany.  The culinary inspiration I picked up along the way, coupled with the fact I didn’t so much as light a stove the entire voyage, gave me a serious urge to cook upon my arrival back in the States.

(c) For Christmas this year, I was gifted two fabulous cookbooks that provide tremendous inspiration:

How to Cook Everything by Mark Bittman

The Splendid Table’s How to Eat Supper by Lynne Rossetto Kasper and Sally Swift.

These essential two, along with the oodles I usually have on loan from the local public library, are generally in a [tall] stack beside my bed.

Stayed tuned for more in the weeks to come. Thanks again for visiting.

Leave a Reply

