Skip to content

Whole Wheat Bread

April 23, 2009

whole wheat bread

Over the past few months, I’ve been making bread once every week or so.  It all started out with a recipe my friend Ida gave me for a quick loaf that rises overnight and requires absolutely no kneading.  When I initially received the recipe, I didn’t think myself much of a bread baker–I’d been pretty happy with the Tuscan and Parisian style varieties available at local markets and feared that the time invested, minimal as it may be, would not yield a perceptibly better product. But several months later, after atleast 20 loaves and some alterations to the recipe, I can say I’m a home-baked bread believer.

Here’s the recipe I use:

Quick Whole Wheat Bread
Mix together in a big bowl:
3 cups flour (regular all-purpose, or a mix of all purpose and whole wheat)
1/2 teaspoon yeast
1  teaspoon salt
a good sprinkling of sugar
Add 1 1/2 cups warm water and a drizzle of olive oil and stir to combine
Allow to rise overnight (or about 6-8 hours)
Preheat oven to 500 degrees.  Allow dutch oven or other oven-proof pan with lid to preheat as well.
Oil bottom of pan and dump in bread dough.  Sprinkle with salt if desired.
Bake 30-45 minutes with lid on and then another 10-15 minutes with lid removed.
Remove from pan and allow to cool.

This has become a breakfast staple for me–a little melted gruyere, maybe some chutney on top and I’m pretty delighted.

bread_slices1

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

