Skip to content

Makin’ Pasta

May 20, 2009

lots o' pasta

Over the weekend, my pal Natalie invited me over for an afternoon of pasta making. Having tried to undertake this challenge in my own kitchen a few months ago, only to yield tough strands that appeared [and tasted] like shoelaces, I figured I could learn a thing or two.

Natalie is a pasta making champ and an excellent teacher. She even made a ‘junior’ pile of flour (as pictured below) for me so I could follow along as she showed me the process.

big and little piles

We made our wells in our respective flour piles and carefully added eggs and olive oil.

well

We mixed and mixed with our fingers…

IMG_4945

…until everything was combined. While we waited for the dough to chill in the fridge, I questioned her relentlessly. Why do we need to chill the dough? Where can I buy a cheap pasta maker? Are there any competitive pasta makers in your family? She was very tolerant.

After about a half hour, we started to roll out the dough. Wine/champagne bottles work well, as you will see.

rolling

pasta sheets

Once the dough was very thin, we rolled it loosely into a log and cut it into strips.

roll and cut

After unrolling, we hung the pasta on a rack to dry. Mission complete.

drying

Thanks Natalie!

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 20, 2009 10:10 pm

    Anytime, Sistah!

Leave a Reply

