Skip to content

Cinnamon Almond Oatmeal Cookies

June 6, 2009

IMG_5182 Around 4 o’clock on most afternoons, I observe a tea time ritual. It involves plain, good old Lipton tea and a sweet of some form or another. Some days, an apple sprinkled with cinnamon will suffice, but most often I like to indulge in some sort of baked good. Banana Bread is a good option here, but for me, an equally likely treat (and perhaps a slightly more dunk-able one) is a homemade oatmeal cookie. I’ve tried lot of recipes but always come back to the one on trusty ol’ Quaker Oats canister–Vanishing Oatmeal Cookies never fail.

For my most recent batch, I substituted the raisins for a 1/2 cup roughly chopped almonds and another 1/2 cup of cinnamon chips. In addition to the vanilla, I added a teaspoon of almond extract. Other additions/alterations I’ve tried include:

Heath Bar chunks (and chocolate chips if you’re basically looking for a candy bar)
shredded coconut and finely chopped dried pineapple
Crushed peanuts and 4 tbsp. peanut butter substituted for 4 tbsp. of the butter
Dried cranberries and grated orange zest (a tsp. or two)

Clearly there’s room for a great deal of improvisation here. Let me know if you have suggestions. tea and cookie

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

