Skip to content

Chocolate Covered Espresso Marshmallows

March 14, 2010

I wouldn’t exactly call myself a marshmallow enthusiast. Don’t get me wrong–I have fond memories of toasting the Jet-Puffed variety over a summer camp bonfire or enjoying a post-sledding hot cocoa, chock full of the puffy white treats. But until this winter, I hadn’t really given these confections a whole lot of thought. In fact, barring the occasional purchase of a package for rice crispy treats or sweet potato casserole (which I make, say, once every two or three years), I hardly even stocked them in my pantry.

But my marshmallow outlook changed in December–in the spirit of holiday gift giving, I opted into a group baking weekend with a few friends. We each selected a gift-worthy recipe, pooled ingredients, mixing bowls and utensils and went into production over a chilly couple of December days. We made giant quantities of biscotti (both my family’s favorite hazelnut recipe and an improvised variation with Cointreau, pistachios and sour cherries), Matzoh Toffee, and for a bit of a challenge, peppermint marshmallows. The whole weekend was a blast and yielded tremendously tasty results. I also came away with a new found interested in the made-from-scratch marshmallow and its numerous flavor variations.

The Marshmallow Fluff-esque mixture before setting

A few weekends ago, I decided to give marshmallows another go. This time I tweaked the recipe (taken from the ever gorgeous Smitten Kitchen blog), replacing the peppermint/vanilla extract with a few heaping tablespoons full of instant Medaglia D’Oro espresso powder. After the marshmallows had set, I dipped them in some melted semi-sweet chocolate and ta-da! Chocolate Espresso Covered Marshmallows!

naked marshmallows!

covered in chocolate!

To make, follow Deb’s recipe on SmittenKitchen.com. Once marshmallows are set, you are ready for Phase II: Chocolate Dipping! Simply melt some good chocolate gently in the microwave or over a double boiler (it needn’t be hot–just melted), and get dunking. As you go, arrange the chocolate shrouded treats on a sheet of parchment and allow to set completely before packaging.

Leave a Reply

